Return to Curriculum

Early Years Foundation Stage

Our curriculum is based on the educational programmes outlined in the Statutory Framework for the EYFS.

The curriculum encompasses seven areas of learning and development. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly important for building a foundation for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, forming relationships, and thriving.

These are the prime areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social, and Emotional Development.

Four areas help children to strengthen and apply the prime areas. These are the specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

None of these areas can be delivered in isolation. All areas are delivered through a balance of adult led and child-initiated activities.

Our curriculum incorporates learning through play, learning by adults modelling, by observing each other and through guided learning and direct teaching.

Our plans are flexible to allow us to respond quickly to children’s new interests and needs. Weaving throughout the EYFS curriculum at Highwood are the three Characteristics of Effective Learning. These are:

  • playing and exploring – children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’
  • active learning – children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements
  • creating and thinking critically – children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things These elements underpin how we reflect on each child’s development and adjust our practice accordingly. Supporting children in their individual learning behaviours and observing the context of children’s play is essential.